What 20 bar actually means on an espresso machine
Every espresso listing on our storefront states a bar figure, and the number means less than buyers assume. Here is what it does and does not tell you, and which of the published figures to trust.
Reviewed by the Anbo United export team · Page last updated:
Coffee machines · 2026-10-10
Direct answer
Bar pressure on an espresso machine describes the maximum pressure the pump can generate at the brew group. It is not a measure of how good the coffee is, and it is not a measure of how much pressure the coffee sees in the cup.
Our storefront publishes seven coffee machine listings and five of them state a bar figure: 19 bar, 19/20 bar, or 20 bar. That spread is narrow, and that is the point. If two suppliers both claim20 bar, bar pressure cannot be the specification that separates them.
The published figures
Published coffee listings — what actually differs
| Model | Bar figure | The specification that really differs |
|---|---|---|
| Semi-Automatic Espresso | 20 bar | The entry point. Nothing else published, which is the honest position |
| 3-in-1 Capsule | 19/20 bar | 1,100 W, capsule and ground coffee in one body, EU plug as standard |
| Semi-Auto Mini Capsule | 19 bar | 1,400 W — the highest power in the capsule range, which is what drives the 110 V versus 220 V build |
| Compact with milk tank | 20 bar | 500 ml detachable milk tank. The cleaning argument, and cleaning is where home machines fail |
| 5-in-1 Multi Capsule | 20 bar | 1.5 L water tank and five beverage functions on one capsule platform |
| Italian Semi-Automatic | Not stated | Programmable, 220 V, RoHS marked. No pressure figure is published, and we do not fill it in |
| Commercial Fully Automatic | Not stated | Touch screen, programmable. $199, MOQ 300. Serves an entirely different buyer |
Two listings state no pressure figure. They are shown as not stated rather than carrying a value from a similar model — a specification copied across a range is how a data sheet starts lying.

What bar pressure actually describes
An espresso shot is extracted at roughly 9 bar. A machine rated at 20 bar does not brew at 20 bar — the pump overshoots, and anopenvoltage regulator clamps the pressure to the brew range before water reaches the puck.
What the 20 bar rating describes is headroom: how much pressure the pump has in reserve above the brew requirement. That headroom matters for two practical reasons. The first is resistance — a fresh, dense coffee puck offers more resistance than a stale one, and a pump with headroom holds brew pressure through that resistance instead of sagging below it. The second is recovery after the shot, which is what determines whether the machine can pull a second cup back to back.
Why 20 bar became the number everyone quotes
There is no independent standard that defines what a 20 bar espresso machine must satisfy beyond delivering brew pressure in the correct range. The figure is not regulated, which means it is also not audited, which means two machines labelled 20 bar can behave very differently.
This matters commercially when you are comparing two machines for a range. A sensible way to use the figure is as a floor rather than a selling point: 19 bar and above is a functioning machine, and the differences that actually move resale value are elsewhere.
Where the real differences are in our own listings
Our published coffee range runs from $32 to $199. If bar pressure were the deciding specification, the whole range would sit at 19–20 bar and there would be no reason for the spread. The spread exists because these are genuinely different machines:
What to ask a supplier instead of asking for bar
Ask what the machine does when the puck is fresh and dense, not what it claims on the box. Then ask how many shots it pulls before the tank needs refilling, and how long the last shot of a full tank takes to recover.
Those three questions separate a $34 machine from a $199 machine far more reliably than any pressure figure on either.
Where to see our published range
All nine listings, with bar, wattage, tank volume, price and minimum order quantity, are on the price and MOQ reference. The coffee category page carries the same table with the commercial tiers broken out.
Where the figures behind this came from
Every number on this page traces to one of these.
| Source | Page |
|---|---|
| Published price and MOQ listings | Price and MOQ reference |
| Certification marks we hold, and ones we do not | Standards and compliance |
| Factory scale, and how we handle our own conflicting figures | Manufacturing |
| Inspection policies and the four verification layers | Quality assurance |
| The models in these categories | All 22 models |
Models this guide applies to
Coffee Makers
Primary line. Parts-intensive, so the spares plan is designed with the product.
| Model | Product | Architecture | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| CM150 | 150 ml Capsule Espresso Machine | Capsule, single serve | Open model page → |
| CM320 | 20 Bar Semi-Automatic Espresso Machine with Grinder | Semi-automatic, integrated grinder | Open model page → |
| CM420 | Bean-to-Cup Automatic Espresso Machine | Fully automatic, colour display | Open model page → |
| CM520 | Programmable Drip Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe | Drip, scheduled brewing | Open model page → |
Other guides
- One factory, $32 retail to $199 commercial: what that means for a coffee programme2026-10-10Our coffee range spans a $32 semi-automatic machine at MOQ 500 and a $199 commercial fully automatic at MOQ 300. Most suppliers occupy one end of that. Here is why serving both changes a programme.
- ETL and VDE on one grill listing: what a buyer should notice2026-10-10Our 4-slice contact grill listing names CE, CB and ETL directly and carries a detachable VDE plug. Both details change what you can do with the product after you order it.
- A pizza function is not a pizza maker: reading the price gap correctly2026-10-10Our pizza listings span $35 to $85.80 and they are three different products. Reading the price gap as a specification gap is the mistake that costs a buyer the wrong shelf.
- PFAS-Free appears on most of our air fryer listings. Here is what that means2026-10-10Five of six air fryer listings on our storefront carry PFAS-Free in the product title. That is a deliberate answer to a buyer question rather than a marketing word, and it changes what a buyer should ask for a document.
- Our own factory figures disagree with each other. Here is how we handle it2026-10-10Our corporate site says 30,000 m² and 90 senior engineers. Our Global Sources profile says 16,000 m² and 20. Both are ours. This is how we publish that, and why.
- How to tell if a Chinese coffee maker supplier is a factory or a trading company2026-10-16A supplier's own category listing tells you more than its company description does. Here are five checks that separate a factory from an intermediary, in the order that produces an answer fastest.
- Verifying an NRTL listing is real: UL, ETL and the databases that check them2026-10-16An ETL or UL mark on a listing title is not a listing you can verify. Here is how to find the certificate, what to read on it, and why a listing title is the weakest evidence of a listing.
- The spare parts clause: how to structure free-of-charge parts in a coffee machine contract2026-10-16Free spare parts are easy to agree verbally and expensive to dispute. What matters is not the percentage — it is the part number list, the years, the claim window and the freight term.
- Vibration pump lifetime: what to ask a supplier, and why the answer is usually a number they cannot prove2026-10-16Pump life claims are the least verifiable specification on a coffee machine. Here is what a test record should contain, why cycles alone do not mean lifespan, and the three documents that make the claim checkable.
- Food-contact material documents for espresso machines: what to request and what each one proves2026-10-16A food-contact declaration is not a test report, and the gap between them is where most importers get caught. Here is what each document type proves, which market asks for which, and what our own documents cover.
- California Proposition 65 and small kitchen appliances: when it does not apply, and when it does2026-10-16Prop 65 is a warning regime, not a certification. Here is how it actually attaches to a small appliance, why the brass boiler question applies to very few importers, and what to do when you are not sure which case you are in.
- What actually determines units per container: why the unit count is the last question, not the first2026-10-16Nobody can tell you how many units fit in a 40ft HQ without the carton dimensions. Here are the variables that actually move the number, and the three figures you need before any loading plan is worth reading.
- UL 1082 and coffee maker safety standards: scope, the other standards, and what to request2026-10-16One standard number does not cover a coffee machine range. Here is what a drip maker, an espresso machine and a commercial unit each sit under, and the four fields to check on whatever certificate a supplier hands you.
- ISTA 3A vs Amazon SIPP: what each drop test is for, and why the report matters more than the standard name2026-10-16Two drop tests answer two different questions about the same box. Here is which is which, what belongs in a report, and what a packaging supplier must confirm before a container is worth its freight.
- Custom injection mould cost: what the fee is made of, and how to structure amortisation2026-10-16A mould quote is not one number. It is a structure of cavities, steel, finish, trials and lead time — and amortisation terms decide whether that structure helps you or traps you.
- Tooling ownership in a manufacturing contract: the clauses that decide who owns the mould2026-10-16Tooling ownership is rarely about the clause text. It is about what happens when the relationship ends. Here are the fields that decide it, and why governing law belongs in a separate conversation.
- Tracing who actually manufactures a branded product: what you can verify, and what you cannot2026-10-16Questions about which factories make for which brands cannot be answered from public information — and anyone who gives you a confident answer is guessing. Here is what is verifiable, how to trace a supply chain within the law, and why guessing is a bad basis for a decision.
- How to Select a Coffee Machine Price Band for Saudi Tabby and Tamara?2026-10-22Saudi split-payment limits are not one number. Tabby's consumer finance licence reaches SAR 50,000, but the published terms at major Saudi retail partners cap financed baskets at SAR 9,000. A coffee machine above that ceiling needs a different route to market.
- How to Select a BIS-Certified Coffee Maker for India under IS 302?2026-10-22Electric coffee makers sold in India need BIS certification under IS 302 (Part 1):2024, and coffee makers carry a product-specific part on top. The 2026 Quality Control Order replaced the 2025 Order and applies to general enterprises from 1 October 2026.
- Which Coffee Machine Categories Should You Not Buy from Us?2026-10-22Anbo United makes seven household appliance categories and 22 models. We do not make Arabic coffee machines, dual-boiler commercial machines, multi-ingredient vending machines or South Indian filter coffee machines. Here is the boundary, and what to do instead.
Ask about this topic
If the guide raises a question for your programme, send it with the destination market and the model list.
At a glance
- Page subject
- Ningbo Anbo United Electric Appliance Co.,ltd (Anbo United)
- Location
- Ningbo, Zhejiang, China
- Primary product lines
- Coffee machines, pizza makers, electric grills
- Core category built alongside
- Air fryers — single basket, dual basket, oven type, smart
- Also manufactures
- Grills & baking, small home appliances, garment care, spare parts
- Services
- OEM / ODM manufacturing, private label, tool& moulds, compliance support
- Official links
- Alibaba.com · LinkedIn
- Sales contacts
- AMY (General Manager / CEO) ceo@anbolife.com · Tony (International Sales) tony@anbolife.com
- Contact
- +86-15355158390 · ceo@anbolife.com
- Content updated