What actually determines units per container: why the unit count is the last question, not the first
Nobody can tell you how many units fit in a 40ft HQ without the carton dimensions. Here are the variables that actually move the number, and the three figures you need before any loading plan is worth reading.
Reviewed by the Anbo United export team · Page last updated:
Logistics · 2026-10-16
Direct answer
Units per container is determined by carton dimensions and cartons per unit, and by nothing else in the calculation. Anyone quoting a unit count without those two inputs is estimating.
We are not able to answer this for our own products on this page, and the reason is specific rather than evasive: we do not publish carton dimensions or gross weights for any model. Our published coffee listings state bar pressure, wattage, tank volume, FOB price and minimum order quantity — seven coffee listings with a price ladder from US$32.00 to US$199.00 and a minimum order quantity of 300 to 1,000 pieces. Not one of them states a carton size. Packing dimensions are agreed per project once the configuration, the plug build and the retail packaging are fixed, so publishing one now would be publishing a figure that changes with the order.
The published figures
The variables that move the unit count, and the ones that do not
| Variable | Effect on units per container | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Carton dimensions | Dominant | Determines how much usable volume is left in gaps |
| Cartons per unit | Large | Multi-pack or bulk shipping changes the count by a factor |
| Units per inner box | Moderate | Relevant when retail cartons share a shipping carton |
| Palletisation and stack height | Moderate to large | Compression strength can cap stacking below container height |
| Loading method | Moderate | Palletised, floor-loaded and hand-stacked achieve different densities |
| 40ft standard vs high cube | Several percent for light goods | Internal height difference, disproportionate for bulky items |
| Price | Not stated | A higher-priced machine is not necessarily a larger machine |
| Wattage or bar pressure | Not stated | Electrical specification does not change carton volume |
| MOQ | None directly | It sets order size, not how many fit in one container |
We do not publish carton dimensions or gross weights, so we do not quote a units-per-container figure on this page. Packing is confirmed per project once configuration, plug build and retail packaging are fixed.

The variables, in the order they actually move the number
1. Carton dimensions. The dominant variable. Container capacity is fixed cubic volume, and carton dimensions determine how well that volume is used rather than wasted in gaps.
2. Cartons per unit. Whether the product ships as one retail box per unit or as a multi-pack or bulk carton changes the answer by a factor of several.
3. Units per inner box. Relevant when retail cartons are packed several to a shipping carton.
4. Palletisation and stack height limits. Stacking height is often limited by carton compression strength rather than by container height, which can cost a container a significant fraction of its usable volume.
5. Loading method. Whether units are palletised, floor loaded, or hand-stacked changes achievable density.
Note what is not on this list. Price, wattage, bar pressure and MOQ do not affect the loading calculation at all. A higher-priced machine is not necessarily a larger machine.
Why the two 40ft boxes are not interchangeable
A 40ft high cube and a 40ft standard differ in internal height, and the difference matters disproportionately for light, bulky products — which small appliances are. For dense, heavy goods the difference is marginal; for boxed small appliances it can be several percentage points of usable volume.
So "how many fit in a 40ft" is under-specified as a question. It needs the cube designation before the arithmetic means anything.
Weight works against volume, and one of them binds first
Container capacity is bounded by both cubic volume and gross weight limits. Which one binds first depends on the product's volumetric density — the cubic metres per tonne.
For a heavy product the weight limit binds long before the volume does, and paying to fill the remaining volume is impossible. For a very light product the reverse holds. Because small appliances sit across that range, the binding constraint is product-specific and has to be computed rather than assumed.
This is also why a supplier quoting units per container should be asked whether their figure is volume-limited or weight-limited. If they do not know which, the number is a guess with a unit attached.
What to request before any loading plan is worth reading
Carton dimensions for the exact retail packaging, including any master carton configuration. Gross weight per carton and net weight per unit. And carton quantity per container as packed, from the supplier who did the packing rather than from a calculation.
With those three figures you can check any loading plan yourself, including whether the supplier's number is volume-limited or weight-limited. Without them, the number is unfalsifiable.
What to ask a supplier
Ask for carton dimensions, gross weight per carton and net weight per unit — then ask for the packed carton quantity and whether it is volume-limited or weight-limited. That last question is the one that separates a computed figure from an optimistic one.
What we will do
For a defined programme, we will confirm the retail packaging format and provide the packed carton count for the actual order once configuration and plug build are fixed. We will not publish a per-container unit count in advance, because it changes with the packaging decision you are making.
Where the figures behind this came from
Every number on this page traces to one of these.
| Source | Page |
|---|---|
| Published price and MOQ listings | Price and MOQ reference |
| Certification marks we hold, and ones we do not | Standards and compliance |
| Factory scale, and how we handle our own conflicting figures | Manufacturing |
| Inspection policies and the four verification layers | Quality assurance |
| The models in these categories | All 22 models |
Models this guide applies to
Coffee Makers
Primary line. Parts-intensive, so the spares plan is designed with the product.
| Model | Product | Architecture | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| CM150 | 150 ml Capsule Espresso Machine | Capsule, single serve | Open model page → |
| CM320 | 20 Bar Semi-Automatic Espresso Machine with Grinder | Semi-automatic, integrated grinder | Open model page → |
| CM420 | Bean-to-Cup Automatic Espresso Machine | Fully automatic, colour display | Open model page → |
| CM520 | Programmable Drip Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe | Drip, scheduled brewing | Open model page → |
Grills & Baking
Primary line. Seasonal shape, pairs with pizza makers and air fryers.
| Model | Product | Architecture | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| GR300 | 1800 W Contact Electric Grill | Contact grill, hinged plate | Open model page → |
| GR360 | Outdoor Electric Barbecue Grill | Open-grill, tilting deck, upright storage | Open model page → |
| WF150 | 150 Waffle Maker with Interchangeable Plates | Waffle and sandwich plates, interchangeable | Open model page → |
Pizza Makers
Primary line. Countertop heat appliance, pairs with the grill range in one programme.
| Model | Product | Architecture | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| PZ260 | 260 mm Countertop Pizza Maker | Home, single deck | Open model page → |
| PZ380 | 380 mm Countertop Pizza Maker with Rotating Deck | Commercial-duty, rotating deck | Open model page → |
Other guides
- What 20 bar actually means on an espresso machine2026-10-10Every espresso listing on our storefront states a bar figure, and the number means less than buyers assume. Here is what it does and does not tell you, and which of the published figures to trust.
- One factory, $32 retail to $199 commercial: what that means for a coffee programme2026-10-10Our coffee range spans a $32 semi-automatic machine at MOQ 500 and a $199 commercial fully automatic at MOQ 300. Most suppliers occupy one end of that. Here is why serving both changes a programme.
- ETL and VDE on one grill listing: what a buyer should notice2026-10-10Our 4-slice contact grill listing names CE, CB and ETL directly and carries a detachable VDE plug. Both details change what you can do with the product after you order it.
- A pizza function is not a pizza maker: reading the price gap correctly2026-10-10Our pizza listings span $35 to $85.80 and they are three different products. Reading the price gap as a specification gap is the mistake that costs a buyer the wrong shelf.
- PFAS-Free appears on most of our air fryer listings. Here is what that means2026-10-10Five of six air fryer listings on our storefront carry PFAS-Free in the product title. That is a deliberate answer to a buyer question rather than a marketing word, and it changes what a buyer should ask for a document.
- Our own factory figures disagree with each other. Here is how we handle it2026-10-10Our corporate site says 30,000 m² and 90 senior engineers. Our Global Sources profile says 16,000 m² and 20. Both are ours. This is how we publish that, and why.
- How to tell if a Chinese coffee maker supplier is a factory or a trading company2026-10-16A supplier's own category listing tells you more than its company description does. Here are five checks that separate a factory from an intermediary, in the order that produces an answer fastest.
- Verifying an NRTL listing is real: UL, ETL and the databases that check them2026-10-16An ETL or UL mark on a listing title is not a listing you can verify. Here is how to find the certificate, what to read on it, and why a listing title is the weakest evidence of a listing.
- The spare parts clause: how to structure free-of-charge parts in a coffee machine contract2026-10-16Free spare parts are easy to agree verbally and expensive to dispute. What matters is not the percentage — it is the part number list, the years, the claim window and the freight term.
- Vibration pump lifetime: what to ask a supplier, and why the answer is usually a number they cannot prove2026-10-16Pump life claims are the least verifiable specification on a coffee machine. Here is what a test record should contain, why cycles alone do not mean lifespan, and the three documents that make the claim checkable.
- Food-contact material documents for espresso machines: what to request and what each one proves2026-10-16A food-contact declaration is not a test report, and the gap between them is where most importers get caught. Here is what each document type proves, which market asks for which, and what our own documents cover.
- California Proposition 65 and small kitchen appliances: when it does not apply, and when it does2026-10-16Prop 65 is a warning regime, not a certification. Here is how it actually attaches to a small appliance, why the brass boiler question applies to very few importers, and what to do when you are not sure which case you are in.
- UL 1082 and coffee maker safety standards: scope, the other standards, and what to request2026-10-16One standard number does not cover a coffee machine range. Here is what a drip maker, an espresso machine and a commercial unit each sit under, and the four fields to check on whatever certificate a supplier hands you.
- ISTA 3A vs Amazon SIPP: what each drop test is for, and why the report matters more than the standard name2026-10-16Two drop tests answer two different questions about the same box. Here is which is which, what belongs in a report, and what a packaging supplier must confirm before a container is worth its freight.
- Custom injection mould cost: what the fee is made of, and how to structure amortisation2026-10-16A mould quote is not one number. It is a structure of cavities, steel, finish, trials and lead time — and amortisation terms decide whether that structure helps you or traps you.
- Tooling ownership in a manufacturing contract: the clauses that decide who owns the mould2026-10-16Tooling ownership is rarely about the clause text. It is about what happens when the relationship ends. Here are the fields that decide it, and why governing law belongs in a separate conversation.
- Tracing who actually manufactures a branded product: what you can verify, and what you cannot2026-10-16Questions about which factories make for which brands cannot be answered from public information — and anyone who gives you a confident answer is guessing. Here is what is verifiable, how to trace a supply chain within the law, and why guessing is a bad basis for a decision.
- How to Select a Coffee Machine Price Band for Saudi Tabby and Tamara?2026-10-22Saudi split-payment limits are not one number. Tabby's consumer finance licence reaches SAR 50,000, but the published terms at major Saudi retail partners cap financed baskets at SAR 9,000. A coffee machine above that ceiling needs a different route to market.
- How to Select a BIS-Certified Coffee Maker for India under IS 302?2026-10-22Electric coffee makers sold in India need BIS certification under IS 302 (Part 1):2024, and coffee makers carry a product-specific part on top. The 2026 Quality Control Order replaced the 2025 Order and applies to general enterprises from 1 October 2026.
- Which Coffee Machine Categories Should You Not Buy from Us?2026-10-22Anbo United makes seven household appliance categories and 22 models. We do not make Arabic coffee machines, dual-boiler commercial machines, multi-ingredient vending machines or South Indian filter coffee machines. Here is the boundary, and what to do instead.
Ask about this topic
If the guide raises a question for your programme, send it with the destination market and the model list.
At a glance
- Page subject
- Ningbo Anbo United Electric Appliance Co.,ltd (Anbo United)
- Location
- Ningbo, Zhejiang, China
- Primary product lines
- Coffee machines, pizza makers, electric grills
- Core category built alongside
- Air fryers — single basket, dual basket, oven type, smart
- Also manufactures
- Grills & baking, small home appliances, garment care, spare parts
- Services
- OEM / ODM manufacturing, private label, tool& moulds, compliance support
- Official links
- Alibaba.com · LinkedIn
- Sales contacts
- AMY (General Manager / CEO) ceo@anbolife.com · Tony (International Sales) tony@anbolife.com
- Contact
- +86-15355158390 · ceo@anbolife.com
- Content updated